listen to fonal music


No items to show with given criteria!


 add to cart
PÖLLÖT - Pöllöt

PRE ORDER - RELEASE DATE: August 1st 2014

Also available as LP / Digital coming soon

1 Hiihtoloma
2 Bailumimmi
3 Tapetaan aikaa
4 Valonsäteet
5 Lentävä talo
6 Kalla
7 Lentokone
8 Kaikki hajoaa
9 Sade loppuu

Fonal Records will release the debut album by Pöllöt on the 4th of August 2014. Pöllöt are a Finnish rock band formed in Turku in 2012. Previously, the band have released a tape called Ekat demot (Early demos) and played shows in Finland. Despite their brief history, the band have caused a stir in the music press and won over audiences up and down the country. Their music is a combination of the effortless joy of playing together and their catchy lyrics and melodies. The lyrics are boldly experimental little stories, adventures in the mysteries of daily life. Mood-wise, the material ranges from upbeat rock songs to rather more peaceful numbers.

The members of Pöllöt have in the past played in bands such as Cats on Fire, The New Tigers, Lau Nau, Kiila, Jarse, Barry Andrewsin disko, Goodnight Monsters and Kauppilan puutarha. Jaakko Tolvi (guitar and vocals), Janne Kauppinen (guitar and vocals), Markus Jalonen (bass), Ville Hopponen (drums) and Jukka Herva (keyboard and vocals) have, between them, played on dozens of releases.

There are three vocalists in Pöllöt. "Tapetaan aikaa", vocalised by Jaakko Tolvi, is a real Pöllöt rocker with a murder-story lyric to boot, while "Valonsäteet", sung by Janne Kauppinen, is a beautiful little pop tune. The album closer "Sade loppuu" is a multi-part mini epic about making jam. Even though the songs have been carefully written and arranged, there’s plenty of space for improvisation and surprises. The music of Pöllöt sounds as though it has always been there.

Pöllöt recorded their debut album in August 2013 at Äänikuva Studios in Turku. The album was mixed and produced by Jari Suominen (of Shogun Kunitoki/Jarse fame). The mastering was done by Samuli Tanner. In the studio, the aim was to capture the idiosyncratic sound of Pöllöt. The album cover was designed and created by Timo Marila.






Please go to Fonal Forum's Shop FAQ section for frequently asked questions, information and guides.


  1. Add items to cart
    • select shipping options
    • select payment method
  2. Proceed to checkout
    • write your name, e-mail, and address
    • confirm order
  3. Pay your order


1. Bank transfer

A prepayment by bank transfer to our account:
Fonal Records
Pohjola Bank plc
P.O. Box 308
FI-00013 POHJOLA, Finland
IBAN # FI2457300820306120

2. Credit card / PayPal

We accept major credit cards like Visa, Mastercard etc via PayPal-service (you dont need an account). Our paypal account is Check Fonal Forum's Shop FAQ for a guide on how to pay with a credit card.

3. Cash in mail

Money sent well hidden in an envelope at your own risk. We recommend using registered mail! Fonal Records, PO BOX 185, 33101 Tampere, Finland


We will not under any circumstances give or sell any information provided to us to any third parties. Any credit card transactions are handled by PayPal and you can find all the necessary information on credit card privacy at the PayPal-website.


Click here to see a list of stores and distributors that carry Fonal Records releases.


If you any questions or want to add or delete items from your order please do not hesitate to contact us:

Fonal Records
PO BOX 185
33101 Tampere